Anton Dhouran – The Myth of Tarae LP


1. This Is Us
2. Valhalla Rising
3. Amenestra (feat. Etienne Girardin)
4. Inception
5. Isle of Arava
6. Praetorius
7. A Kind of Light
8. Lost in Charcot
9. The Myth of Tarae (feat. Ed Begley)
10. Odyssey
11. Eden {Bonus Track}

Chapter 24’s second album release comes from young Parisian composer Anton Dhouran.

Born into a family of movie-makers and having grown up dreaming of writing music for film, the 23-year old has turned his hand to making cinematic dance tracks. His success so far has seen him sign to labels such as Diynamic, Jeudi and The Soundgarden.

Dhouran’s first full-length LP, ‘The Myth of Tarae’, is typically epic in its breadth and narrative, effortlessly melding the combination of electronic, instrumental and cinematic styles for which he has become known. In keeping with the cinematographic thrust of the work, it is accompanied by a short film which matches the music in its scope and ambition.

The film, which scores the album’s powerful title track, is a project overseen by Dhouran with the aim of raising awareness of the current plight of the environment. Both music and film share an apocalyptic, haunting but ultimately uplifting quality.

True to Chapter 24’s ‘stories in sound’ ethos, the ten-track LP is fuelled by a desire to take listeners on a journey. Opener ‘This Is Us’ sets the tone, offering atmospheric electronica, acoustic guitar and live drums, before the moody synthesis of ‘Valhalla Rising’ picks up the pace into early standout ‘Amenestra’, featuring Etienne Girardin.

‘Inception’ channels Radiohead’s ‘Paranoid Android’ as haunting, psychedelic Spanish guitars are balanced with warm synth lines which tread the line between melancholy and optimism. ‘Isle of Arava’ and ‘Praetorius’ both continue the album’s motif of flute instrumentation, while the epic ‘A Kind of Light’ is a mythical voyage in its own right.

The album closes with the more driving ‘Lost in Charcot’ and the outstanding title track featuring the transportive vocals of London-based singer Ed Begley. ‘Odyssey’ provides a dramatic finishing note, a summation of the atmosphere and emotion riven throughout the piece.

All told, this is a combined album and film release that should fire the imagination of listeners and viewers, and marks the continued rise of the talented Anton Dhouran. A remixes album is forthcoming in 2018.

released December 8, 2017

bandcamp-web beatport-web spotify-web




Masaya – Picking Up The Pieces LP {CH024A}

1. Walking Dad
2. The Backstage
3. Agnostic
4. Haumea
5. Picture
6. Flow of Tears
7. Justin Loves
8. Inside
9. Innocence
10. Borderline
11. Time Goes Fast

The Twenty Fourth Chapter continues to be revealed as Swiss-Chilean artist Masaya proudly announces her debut full length album, Picking Up The Pieces. The 11 track affair is an accomplished listen from start to finish.

Masaya’s whole life is music. As boss of her own label Mina Records, she is a real underground star who has served up many great releases over the last ten years. This latest and greatest opus is a particularly personal one. Three years in the making and influenced by the birth of her son it is an album which draws on a rich range of musical references, truly 11 stories in sound.

Starting with the atmospheric and beatless Walking Dad, the album sucks you in right away. From there The Backstage picks up the pace with a serene deep house groove featuring plenty of soulful chords and sombre moods. Agnostic is brilliantly sparse and deep, with well-crafted drums and cosmic synth patterns unfolding up top.

Throughout the album, there is often a firmly rooted drum groove that keeps things locked to a late night dance floor vibe, and Haumea and Picture are perfect examples of that. Haunting vocal chops, shadowy strings and angelic keys colour pieces like Flow of Tears, Justin Loves and Inside, before the closing trio of Innocence, with its downbeat bass notes and wallowing vocal whispers, Borderline, littered with cowbells and synth drones, and Time Goes Fast, an optimistic closer complete with dreamy female vocals that leaves you feeling enlightened.

Overall then this is a sensational and absorbing album that really showcases Masaya’s fantastic sense of mood and groove, leaving us excited for the album remixes package set for later in the year. Her story continues on Chapter 24.

Released on Friday 10th March 2017.

bandcamp-web beatport-web spotify-web



Watch the album’s MINIMIX below: