Release ch29- 500x500

Jobe – Changes EP {CH029}

1. Rafari
2. Anomaly
3. Boma
4. Changes

Our 29th Chapter showcases the versatile talents of British artist JOBE with the heavy-hitting ‘Changes’ EP.

JOBE – previously responsible for one of Chapter 24’s biggest-selling tracks ‘Aurora’ – has released as widely as Akbal Music, Connaisseur and Steyoyoke. On this occasion, he serves up a balanced four-tracker combining cosmic, afro and techno influences.

‘Rafari’ is the opener. Marked by characterful sound design and swirling disembodied tribal voices creating a strong sense of disorientation, the track is held together by the hefty and assured drive of the main groove.

‘Anomaly’ showcases a more considered side to JOBE’s production and marks a shift of emphasis to harmony and composition, as layers of synths swell skywards before their satisfying return to earth.

Meanwhile, ‘Boma’ is a return to the tense, cosmic afro drive that is bound to set dancefloors aflame, before title track ‘Changes’ rounds things off with a powerful slab of progressive techno.

Four stories in sound that demonstrate JOBE as being totally unconcerned with the constraints of genre, and entirely fixated on creating music that is both timeless and forward-thinking.

released November 10, 2017




Release ch28- 500x500

Djuma Soundsystem & Westerby – Disambigua EP {CH028}

2.Disambigua {Jonathan Kaspar Edition}
3.Disambigua {KatrinKa Edition}
4.Disambigua {Aaaron Edition}

The 28th Chapter sees Djuma Soundsystem team up with Westerby for our latest story in sound: the cosmic afro tech of ‘Disambigua’.

Now based in Copenhagen, Norwegian artist Djuma Soundsystem was catapulted into the public’s consciousness over a decade ago with his club classic ‘Les Djinns’ on Get Physical Music.

His organic, sample-heavy signature sound is the perfect combination with fellow Copenhagen artist Westerby’s rougher, analogue synths and techy edges.

‘Disambigua’, their much-anticipated follow up to smash hit ‘Koma Kobache’ (Get Physical), is a standout cut which is already turning heads on dancefloors across Europe with its dark groove and killer vocal hook.

Rising star Jonathan Kaspar (Objektivity, Pets Recordings) is first up on the Editions, where he takes things deep. Built around the interplay of synth lines in call and response, his rework is a pure bass monster.

Meanwhile, label regular KatrinKa marks her latest release on Chapter 24 with an Edition that places the emphasis on a trademark infectious groove, paired with a spiritual melodic motif; a perfect balance of darkness and light.

The package is rounded out by Aaaron. The in-demand producer has worked with everyone from Defected and Get Physical to (more recently) Connected and Yoshitoshi. He focuses on deep, powerful drums in a version heavy on tension.

With this latest Chapter there can be no doubt: four different flavours of ‘Disambigua’ which together add up to a clear and coherent whole.
released October 6, 2017




Release ch27- 500x500

Kieran Apter – All I Want EP {CH027}

1. All I Want feat. Leon Power
2. All I Want feat. Leon Power {Aera Edition}
3. All I Want feat. Leon Power {Manuel Tur Edition 1}
4. All I Want feat. Leon Power {Manuel Tur Edition 2}
5. Elle

The opening of the 27th Chapter sees the revelation of Scottish artist Kieran Apter’s sophomore ‘All I Want’ EP, featuring Editions from Aera (Innervisions, Hivern Discs) and Manuel Tur (Innervisions, Freerange).

Newcomer Kieran is hotly tipped for success, having come to the attention of some of the best artists in the scene as head honcho and resident DJ for Edinburgh house and techno party ‘Tweak_’.

Opener ‘All I Want’ is a standout composition, featuring the vocals of singer/producer and Nicolas Jaar collaborator Leon Power. It is followed up by the instrumental ‘Elle’ which, more arpeggio-driven, shares the same spiritual feel and electronic soul as the title track.

The Editions on the EP are worthy of the original material. Between them, Aera and Manuel Tur have amassed classic releases on labels as seminal and worthy of reference as Innervisions, Hivern Discs, Freerange and Running Back.

Aera’s Edition blends afro techno, chopped vocals and a beguiling synth sequence to winning effect, in a version heavy on dark drama.

Meanwhile, Manuel Tur turns in two versions, both equally stunning. The first is driving and twisted; the most dancefloor-oriented track on the EP. Meanwhile the second makes the very most of the original’s vocals, placing the focus on live instrumentation and a disco groove.

A stunning and versatile package, we are proud to be a part of launching Kieran Apter’s artist career and are excited for what’s to come.

released September 1, 2017





Stevie R & DelFin – Jalemba EP {CH026}

1. Jalemba feat. Greg Rawson
2. Jalemba feat. Greg Rawson {Mathias Schober’s Rhythm Sequence}
3. Jalemba feat. Greg Rawson {Mathias Schober’s Rhythm Rework}
4. Jalemba feat. Greg Rawson {Rancido Edition}
5. Lepa Sela feat. Fiona McMartin
6. Lepa Sela feat. Fiona McMartin {Juan Edition}
7. Jalemba feat. Greg Rawson {Ambient Edition}
8. Lepa Sela feat. Fiona McMartin {Ambient Edition}

Our twenty sixth Chapter presents a powerful pair. Artists Stevie R (OFF, Babiczstyle, Parquet, Inside Out) and DelFin (Motek) conjure studio magic in their collaboration on the Jalemba EP.

The EP opens with the title track, a wonderfully atmospheric cut that allies heavy percussive rhythms with hypnotic tribal chanting and vintage synth harmonies. It is accompanied by another original, Lepa Sela, a deeper, mysterious and engaging affair with liquid, found sound grooves.

The remixes on the package befit this stunning pair of originals.

First up, the in-demand Mathias Schober, boss of Lossless and man of a thousand disguises, contributes a couple of bombs in the form of his Rhythm Sequence and Rhythm Rework. The former grabs the headlines as a peak-time affair, whereas the latter offers a pleasing, chunky heads down groove.

Next to provide Editions are Rancido (Innervisions, Connaisseur) and newcomer Juan (Kindisch).

Rancido adds power and punch to Jalemba in trademark style, ensuring the track cuts through on any dancefloor.

Meanwhile, Juan delivers a powerful Afro re-rub of Lepa Sela that brings the curtain down on an impressive EP.
released July 21, 2017






Amentia – Prince Des Marais {CH025}

1. Prince Des Marais
2. Prince Des Marais {John Monkman Edition}
3. Luciole
4. Luciole {VVerses Fire Edit}
5. Epicéa

For Amentia, music is a surge of emotions. Building on their classical training and many years of jazz practice as percussionist and pianist respectively, Etienne and Raphaël join Chapter 24 with an EP that is a typically bold, heavily musical fusion of styles.

Expressive and improvised musicianship is a common thread through the originals on the EP. Title track Prince Des Marais is a delicate dancefloor-oriented cut, built around a killer hook and rolling techno hats. It is followed by Luciole, a deeper exploration which conjures images of hazy summers and distant shores. Finally Epicéa closes the package, striking a balance between more driving beats and a strong sense of melancholia.

A hefty dose of power is added to proceedings by John Monkman’s Edition of Prince Des Marais. Monkman – who graces some of the biggest labels in the game including Kompakt, Get Physical, Anjunadeep and Rebellion – is on a fine run of form and his remix marks out the start to a big 2017 for him.

Finally, Chapter 24 bosses Sam Pauli and Más Black step up with the first in a series of Edits as part of their new VVerses project. The Luciole Fire Edit is a groovier, darker and more stripped down rework that retains the musicality and edge of the original.

The first EP of the year for Chapter 24 lays out five new stories in sound of typically high quality as the stars realign and the signs of the future start to reveal themselves.

Released on 24th February 2017.